Info Source

Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

PPP Canada


Table of Contents

General Information

Institutional Functions, Programs, and Activities

Additional Information


General Information

Introduction
Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction to Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.


Background

In Budget 2007, the Government of Canada announced key measures to promote the use of public-private partnerships (P3s) in Canadian infrastructure procurements, including the establishment of PPP Canada to spearhead P3 efforts at the federal level and catalyze the use of P3s by other levels of government through a new $1.2-billion Fund ("P3 Canada Fund").

On February 28, 2008, PPP Canada was incorporated pursuant to the Canada Business Corporations Act. On May 8, 2008, the Governor-in-Council declared PPP Canada Inc., as a Parent Crown corporation for the purposes of Part X, (except section 90) of the Financial Administration Act and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance. PPP Canada was established to build P3 procurement knowledge and capacity federally, and leverage greater value for money from federal investments in provincial, territorial, municipal and First Nations infrastructure with the P3 Canada Fund.

On January 19, 2009, the Governor-in-Council confirmed the appointment of the Chair of the Board of Directors, and the appointment of the Chief Executive Officer, effective February 16, 2009. The Minister of Finance and Governor in Council has since appointed five additional members to PPP Canada’s Board of Directors drawing upon their expertise in accounting, auditing, the law, finance, management, P3 contracting and finance structure, government and policy development, engineering and construction, and the infrastructure sector.

Responsibilities

PPP Canadas mandate is to improve the delivery of public infrastructure by achieving better value, timeliness, and accountability to taxpayers through P3s.

PPP Canada acts as a leading source on P3 matters through knowledge development and sharing. In addition, the Corporation provides expertise and advice in assessing and executing P3 opportunities at the federal level as well as leveraging greater value for money from federal investments in provincial, territorial, municipal and First Nations infrastructure through the P3 Canada Fund.

PPP Canada has six corporate objects, as outlined in its Articles of Incorporation:

  • Assess public-private partnerships opportunities at the federal level in accordance with criteria established by the Treasury Board:
  • Assess the suitability of public-private partnership projects seeking funding from federal infrastructure programs in accordance with criteria established by or pursuant to Treasury Board authorities.
  • Advise on the execution of public-private partnership projects at the federal level.
  • Manage the Public-Private Partnerships Fund (P3 Canada Fund) in accordance with the policies and authorities established by the Treasury Board.
  • Negotiate, sign and administer agreements to be funded through the P3 Canada Fund in accordance with the policies and authorities established by the Treasury Board.
  • Act as a source of expertise and advice on public-private partnerships matters.

 

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

FEDERAL PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIPS INITIATIVES

In defining its business framework, the Corporation has paid particular attention to identifying what it means to act as a source of expertise and advice on public-private partnership matters. PPP Canada has focused on increasing its capacity and expertise by developing the tools, materials and overall knowledge to support our work and that of our clients. The Corporation has developed relationships with procuring jurisdictions across all levels of government in order to share lessons learned and experiences.

Consistent with PPP Canadas Corporate Objects, PPP Canada provides advice on the execution of public-private partnership projects at the federal level. PPP Canada seeks to develop the federal P3 market incrementally by working with partners to identify P3 opportunities; delivering advice and expertise to departments; supporting the institutional drivers of P3s, and assessing federal projects at the approval stage. As per Budget 2011, federal departments are required to evaluate the potential for using a P3 for large federal projects with capital costs of $100 million or more. Where projects demonstrate sound P3 potential, procuring departments are required to develop a Procurement Options Analysis.

Advancing Provincial, Territorial, Municipal and First Nation P3s – The $1.2 Billion, P3 Canada Fund was created to improve the delivery of public infrastructure and provide better value, timeliness and accountability by increasing the effective use of public-private partnerships. It is a merit-based program, designed to incent consideration of P3s in public infrastructure procurements, in order to achieve value for taxpayers and other public benefits. PPP Canada works with provincial, territorial, municipal, and First Nations partners to support greater adoption of public-private partnerships in infrastructure procurement. To be eligible for a P3 Canada Fund investment, the infrastructure project must be procured by a supportive provincial, territorial, municipal or First Nations public authority.

Through Economic Action Plan 2014, PPP Canada received a mandate to administer a new P3 Screen applied to applications under the Building Canada Fund whose total capital costs exceed $100M. In this capacity, PPP Canada works with provincial, territorial, and municipal partners to assess relevant projects for P3 viability.

INTERNAL SERVICES

Internal Services constitute groups of related activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of an organization.

PPP Canada’s internal services are: Acquisitions; Communications Services; Financial Management; Human Resources Management; Information Management; Information Technology; Legal Services; Management and Oversight Services; Material; Real Property; Travel and Other Administrative Services.

Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across an organization and not to those provided specifically to a program.

Acquisitions

Acquisition Services involve activities undertaken to acquire a good or service to fulfill a properly completed request (including a complete and accurate definition of requirements and certification that funds are available) until entering into or amending a contract.

Communications Services

Communications Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that Government of Canada communications are effectively managed, well-coordinated and responsive to the diverse information needs of the public. The communications management function ensures that the public—internal or external—receives government information, and that the views and concerns of the public are taken into account in the planning, management and evaluation of policies, programs, services and initiatives.

Financial Management

Financial Management Services involve activities undertaken to ensure the prudent use of public resources, including planning, budgeting, accounting, reporting, control and oversight, analysis, decision support and advice, and financial systems.

Human Resources Management

Human Resources Management Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction, allocating resources among services and processes, as well as activities relating to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies and/or plans.

Information Management

Information Management Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective information management to support program and service delivery; foster informed decision making; facilitate accountability, transparency and collaboration; and preserve and ensure access to information and records for the benefit of present and future generations.

Information Technology 

Information Technology Services involve activities undertaken to achieve efficient and effective use of information technology to support government priorities and program delivery, to increase productivity, and to enhance services to the public.

Legal services

Legal services involve activities undertaken to enable government departments and agencies to pursue policy, program and service delivery priorities and objectives within a legally sound framework.

Management and Oversight Services

Management and Oversight Services involve activities undertaken for determining strategic direction and allocating resources among services and processes, as well as those activities related to analyzing exposure to risk and determining appropriate countermeasures. They ensure that the service operations and programs of the federal government comply with applicable laws, regulations, policies and/or plans.

Material 

Material Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that material can be managed by departments in a sustainable and financially responsible manner that supports the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Real Property 

Real Property Services involve activities undertaken to ensure that real property is managed in a sustainable and financially responsible manner, throughout its life cycle, to support the cost-effective and efficient delivery of government programs.

Travel and Other Administrative Services

Travel and Other Administrative Services include Government of Canada travel services, as well as those other internal services that do not smoothly fit with any of the internal services categories.

Travel Personal Information Bank

Additional Information

Please see the introduction to this publication for information on access procedures under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

For additional information about the programs and activities of PPP Canada, please contact:

PPP Canada
100 Queen Street, Suite 630
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1J9

Telephone: 613-947-9480
Facsimile: 613-947-2289
Email: info@p3canada.ca

URL: http://www.p3canada.ca/

Reading Room

In accordance with the Access to Information Act, an area on the premises of this institution has been designated as a public reading room. The address is:

100 Queen Street, Suite 630
Ottawa, Ontario.

Source d'information

Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les employés fédéraux

PPP Canada


Table des matières

Information générale

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l’organisation

Information additionnelle


Information générale

Introduction

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions fédérales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et laliste des institutions assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confèrent au président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) les responsabilités générales pour ce qui est de l'administration pangouvernementale de ces deux lois.


Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé des mesures-clés dans le Budget 2007 afin de promouvoir l’utilisation des partenariats public-privé (PPP) pour l’approvisionnement d’infrastructures, incluant la création de PPP Canada afin qu’elle dirige les efforts en matière de PPP au niveau fédéral et encourage l’utilisation des PPP au sein des autres niveaux de gouvernement par l’entremise d’un nouveau Fonds de 1,2 milliard de dollars (Fonds PPP Canada).

PPP Canada a été constituée le 28 février 2008 en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions. Le 8 mai 2008, le gouverneur en conseil reconnaissait PPP Canada inc. comme société d'État mère au sens de la partie X (sauf l'article 90) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et relevant du Parlement par l'entremise du ministre des Finances. PPP Canada a été créée afin de bâtir la connaissance et la capacité au niveau fédéral en matière d'approvisionnement en PPP et de tirer parti d'une meilleure valeur ajoutée provenant des investissements fédéraux dans les projets d'infrastructure provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux et des Premières nations grâce au Fonds PPP Canada.

Le 19 janvier 2009, le gouverneur en conseil a confirmé la nomination du président du Conseil d’administration et la nomination du Premier dirigeant, en vigueur le 16 février 2009. Le ministre des Finances et le gouverneur en conseil ont nommé cinq membres additionnels pour siéger au Conseil d’administration de PPP Canada fondé sur leur expertise en comptabilité, en contrôle préalable, en droit législatif, en finance, en gestion, en contrats reliés aux PPP, en structure financière, en expertise gouvernementale et en développement de politiques, en ingénierie et construction, et avec le secteur de l’infrastructure.

 

Responsabilités

Le mandat de PPP Canada est d'utiliser les PPP afin d'améliorer la mise en place d'infrastructure publique en augmentant la rapidité d'exécution, en renforçant la responsabilité et en obtenant davantage pour l'argent des contribuables.

PPP Canada agit en tant que première source pour les sujets relatifs aux PPP grâce au partage et au développement de connaissances. De plus, la Société fournit une expertise et des conseils en matière d'évaluation et de réalisation de projets en PPP au niveau fédéral , en plus d'augmenter substantiellement la valeur ajoutée des investissements fédéraux dans les infrastructures provinciales, territoriales, municipales et des Premières nations par le biais du Fonds PPP Canada.

PPP Canada a six grands objectifs, tel que mentionné dans ses Articles de constitution :

  • Évaluer les occasions de partenariats public-privé au niveau fédéral selon les critères établis par le Conseil du Trésor.
  • Évaluer la pertinence des projets en PPP qui cherchent à obtenir du financement des programmes d'infrastructure fédéraux conformément aux critères établis par les autorités du Conseil du Trésor ou en accord avec celui-ci. 
  • Conseiller sur la réalisation des projets en partenariat public-privé au niveau fédéral.
  • Gérer le Fonds des partenariats public-privé (Fonds PPP Canada) conformément aux politiques et autorités établies par le Conseil du Trésor.
  • Négocier, conclure et gérer les ententes qui seront financées par le Fonds PPP Canada conformément aux politiques et autorisations établies par le Conseil du Trésor.
  • Être une source d’expertise et de conseils sur des questions relatives aux partenariats public-privé.

 

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l’organisation

Dans la définition de son cadre d'affaires, la Société a porté une attention particulière à déterminer ce que signifie être une source d'expertise et de conseils sur les questions liées aux partenariats public-privé. Au cours de la dernière année, PPP Canada a mis l'accent sur l'accroissement de sa capacité et de son expertise en développant des outils, du matériel et une connaissance générale afin d'appuyer son travail et celui de ses clients. La Société a établi des relations avec les administrations approvisionneuses à tous les niveaux de gouvernement afin de partager les leçons apprises et les expériences.

En lien avec les principales lignes de conduite de PPP Canada, elle fournit des conseils en matière de réalisation de projets en partenariat public-privé au niveau fédéral.  PPP Canada cherche à développer le marché des PPP fédéraux de façon progressive en travaillant avec les partenaires pour identifier les occasions en PPP; en donnant des conseils et en offrant une expertise aux ministères; en appuyant les facteurs institutionnels des PPP et en évaluant les projets fédéraux rendus au stade de l’approbation. Tel que mentionné dans le Budget 2011, les ministères fédéraux doivent évaluer la pertinence d’utiliser un PPP pour les projets fédéraux d’envergure ayant des coûts en capital de 100 millions de dollars et plus.  Lorsque les projets démontrent un potentiel solide en PPP, les ministères approvisionneurs doivent élaborer un dossier d’affaires en PPP.

Promouvoir les PPP provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux et des Premières nations - Le Fonds PPP Canada de 1,2 milliard de dollars a été créé pour améliorer la livraison d’infrastructures publiques en augmentant la rapidité d’exécution, en renforçant la responsabilité et en obtenant davantage pour l’argent des contribuables, et ce, par l’entremise de l’utilisation efficace des PPP.  C’est un programme basé sur le mérite, conçu pour inciter l’utilisation des PPP en matière d’approvisionnement d’infrastructures publiques dans le but de fournir une valeur ajoutée et d’autres bénéfices publics aux contribuables.  PPP Canada travaille avec les partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux, les Premières Nations, pour appuyer une plus grande adoption des partenariats public-privé dans l'approvisionnement d'infrastructures. Afin de se qualifier pour un investissement par le Fonds PPP Canada, le projet d’infrastructure doit être approvisionné et appuyé par une autorité publique provinciale, territoriale, municipale ou des Premières nations.

PPP Canada a reçu le mandat, par l’entremise du Plan d’action économique 2014, de gérer une nouvelle Présélection en PPP pour toute demande faite au Fonds chantiers Canada pour laquelle les coûts en immobilisation excèdent 100 millions de dollars.  Dans cet ordre d’idées, PPP Canada travaille avec les partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux, et municipaux afin d’évaluer les projets pertinents démontrant une viabilité en PPP.

 

SERVICES INTERNES

Les services internes constituent des groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes qui sont gérés de façon à répondre aux besoins des programmes et des autres obligations générales d'une organisation. Ces groupes sont les suivants : services de gestion des acquisitions; services des communications; services de gestion des finances; services de gestion des ressources humaines; services de gestion de l’information; services de la technologie de l’information; services juridiques; services de gestion et de surveillance; services de gestion du matériel; services de gestion des biens; services de gestion des voyages et autres services administratifs. Les services internes comprennent uniquement les activités et les ressources destinées à l'ensemble d'une organisation et non celles fournies à un programme particulier.

Services de gestion des acquisitions

Activités mises en œuvre dans de but de se procurer les biens et les services requis pour répondre à une demande dûment remplie (y compris une définition complète et précise des exigences et la garantie que les fonds sont disponibles), et ce, jusqu'à la passation ou à la modification d'un marché.

Services de communications

Activités mises en œuvre afin de veiller à ce que les communications du gouvernement du Canada soient gérées efficacement, bien coordonnées et répondent aux divers besoins d'information du public. La fonction de gestion des communications assure la diffusion de renseignements gouvernementaux au public interne et externe ainsi que la prise en considération de ses préoccupations et intérêts dans la planification, la gestion et l'évaluation de politiques, de programmes, de services et d'initiatives.

Services de gestion financière

Activités visant à assurer l'utilisation responsable des ressources publiques comme la planification, la gestion budgétaire, la comptabilité, la production de rapports, le contrôle et la surveillance, l'analyse, les conseils et le soutien au processus décisionnel, ainsi que les systèmes financiers.


Services de gestion des ressources humaines

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans applicables.

Services de gestion de l'information

Activités visant à assurer une gestion efficiente et efficace de l'information à l'appui de la prestation de programmes et de services, à faciliter la prise de décisions éclairées, à faciliter la reddition des comptes, la transparence et la collaboration, ainsi qu'à conserver l'information et les documents pour le bénéfice de la présente génération et des générations futures en veillant à ce qu'ils demeurent accessibles.

Services de technologie de l'information

Activités dont le but est d'assurer l'utilisation efficiente et efficace de la technologie de l'information, à l'appui des priorités gouvernementales et de la mise en œuvre des programmes afin d'accroître la productivité et d'améliorer les services offerts au public.

Services juridiques

Activités permettant aux ministères et organismes de réaliser les priorités et d'atteindre les objectifs associés à leurs politiques, programmes et services dans un cadre juridique approprié.

Services de gestion et de surveillance

Activités de détermination de l'orientation stratégique, d'affectation des ressources entre les services et les processus et activités liées à l'analyse des risques et à la détermination des mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Elles permettent de veiller à ce que les services et les programmes du gouvernement fédéral respectent les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les plans qui s'appliquent.

Services de gestion du matériel

Activités visant à assurer, de la part des ministères, une gestion du matériel durable et responsable sur le plan financier afin de soutenir l'exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services des biens immobiliers

Activités ayant pour objet d'assurer une gestion des biens immobiliers durable et responsable sur le plan financier, tout au long de leur cycle de vie, afin de soutenir l'exécution rentable et efficace des programmes gouvernementaux.

Services de gestion des voyage et autres services administratifs

Ces services comprennent les services de voyages du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi que les autres services internes qui ne correspondent à aucune autre catégorie de services internes.

 

Information additionnelle

Veuillez vous référer à l’introduction de la présente publication pour plus d’information en matière de dispositions relatives à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Dans l’éventualité où vous souhaitez en connaître davantage sur les programmes et les activités de PPP Canada, veuillez communiquer avec l’organisme mentionné ci-dessous :

PPP Canada
100, rue Queen, bureau 630
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1J9

Téléphone : (613) 947-9480
Télécopieur : 613-947-2289
Courriel : info@p3canada.ca

URL : http://www.p3canada.ca

Salle de lecture

Conformément à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, un endroit sur les lieux de cet organisme a été désigné en tant que salle de lecture publique. L’adresse est la suivante : 

100, rue Queen, bureau 630
Ottawa (Ontario)