Peter Armstrong

Peter Armstrong

Mr. Armstrong is Founder and the principal of the Armstrong Group, owner and operator of Rocky Mountaineer. In 1989, Mr. Armstrong assembled the successful team to bid on the fledgling Rocky Mountaineer service that was being operated by Via Rail, a subsidized federal crown corporation. The company’s turnaround and subsequent success has been achieved without government subsidy.

Rocky Mountaineer was named one of Canada's Best Managed Companies in 2014 for excellence in business performance. Sponsored by Deloitte, CIBC, National Post, Queen's School of Business and MacKay CEO Forums, the Best Managed award recognizes Canadian owned and managed companies with revenues over $10 million for sustained growth, financial performance, management practices and the efforts of the entire organization.

Mr. Armstrong contributes considerable time to business and community boards. He is the past Chair and a trustee for the Vancouver Police Foundation and is also a past Chair for the Board of St. George’s School. Mr. Armstrong received a Honourary Doctorate of Technology from BCIT, a Honourary Doctorate of Law from Thompson Rivers University, a Honourary Doctorate of Law from the Justice Institute of BC and is an Honorary Fellow of the Sauder School of Business. He is the recipient of the Canadian Venture Capital Associations Entrepreneur of the Year Award, Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year Award for Tourism and Hospitality and the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals for his contribution to Canadian communities. He has also been inducted into the Canadian Railway Hall of Fame and was named the 2007 Tourism Leader of the Year by Tourism BC.

Peter Armstrong

Peter Armstrong

M. Armstrong est le fondateur et le directeur du groupe Armstrong, propriétaire et exploitant du train Rocky Mountaineer. En 1989, M. Armstrong a réuni une solide équipe pour s’occuper du nouveau service Rocky Mountaineer, alors exploité par la société d’État subventionnée VIA Rail Canada. Le redressement de l’entreprise et les succès qui ont suivi ont été réalisés sans subvention gouvernementale.

En raison de son rendement exceptionnel, Rocky Mountaineer a été reconnue comme l’une des sociétés les mieux gérées au Canada en 2014. Le concours de la société la mieux gérée est coorganisé par Deloitte, la CIBC, le National Post, l’École de gestion de l’Université Queen’s et le Forum des PDG Mackay. Il récompense les sociétés canadiennes dont les revenus dépassent 10 millions de dollars pour leur croissance soutenue, leurs bons résultats financiers, leurs pratiques de gestion et les efforts déployés à l’échelle de la société.

M. Armstrong consacre également énormément de temps à différents conseils d’administration d’entreprises et d’organismes communautaires. Il a été président et administrateur de la Vancouver Police Foundation et a aussi présidé le conseil d’administration de l’École St. George’s. Par ailleurs, M. Armstrong a reçu un doctorat honorifique en technologie de l’Institut de technologie de la Colombie-Britannique (BCIT), un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université Thompson Rivers et un doctorat honorifique en droit de la Justice Institute de la Colombie-Britannique, en plus d’être membre honoraire de l’École de gestion Sauder. Il est lauréat du Prix de l’entrepreneur de l’année décerné par l’Association canadienne du capital de risque et de celui de l’entrepreneur de l’année dans la catégorie « Tourisme et hôtellerie » remis par Ernst & Young. Il a aussi reçu les Médailles du jubilé d’or et de diamant de la reine pour sa contribution aux différentes collectivités du Canada. Enfin, M. Armstrong a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des chemins de fer du Canada et a été nommé chef de file du secteur touristique pour l’année 2007 par Tourism BC.